Skip to content

A beginning

January 1, 2006

This is my first post on this blog. I am enrolled in an on-line class Openwebpublishing.   I have worked on my blog, Grammar Ramblings, off and on for the last couple of years in Blogger, so this blog is not a completely new experience.  Also, it is good to have to learn or relearn about the beginnings since I will soon guide my students through setting up their blogs for a writing class I teach.  This will be the third semester I have incorporated blogging into the class.  The results have been mixed so far.   Last semester I had two students who did not blog at all and a few others who posted maybe once or twice.  This semester, I hope to have more participation since the first time I had students blog, there was much more participation.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 7:27 pm

    Hello John,

    I think your students will enjoy having their own blogs. It´s their own personal learning space they will be building throughout the year, documenting their progress, reflections and findings, linking and talking to others instead of just talking and responding to you.

    I have chosen this platform for a reason – and after using it, you will tell me whether you undertand my argument.
    Looking forward to seeing it configured.
    Warm regards from Brazil,
    Bee

  2. January 19, 2007 1:54 am

    I certainly hope it works out like that. I have decided to give points for comments on the blogs so they will comment on each others blogs. I wonder if I am too heavy handed, but I have yet to find a successful formula. Still I do keep trying.

  3. pranitagopal permalink
    January 19, 2007 5:19 pm

    Namaskar John: I am sure since u have dangled the carrot of “points” students might just take some interest. Here in India many students feel if the task is associated with marks or grades or points, then it is worth doing else…(better not said):) so from what I gather, students all over the world have the same attitude and teachers all over the world have nothing else to do, but try and try and motivate students slowly and slowly…All the best. Pranita

  4. January 22, 2007 11:25 am

    Motivation, like freedom, is something which must come from within and not be given or imposed. They have been conditioned to the fact that learning cannot come without a material reward. For years they have been told what to do and how to do it and content was poured into their heads. The banking education, as Paulo Freire puts it.

    It takes some time to get them understand that they are not working for a carrot or marks but to develop their own identities in the foreign language and their voice online. The first step is allowing them to have this voice and encouraging them to use it.

Leave a Reply

