Skip to content

On we go…

January 20, 2007

I have tried out a few of the tools but have not had a great deal of luck with them yet. I seem to be having problems with my connection because I just lost the Yahoo groups and last time I tried Flock, it just hung up and would not go beyond the home page.

My class has started blogging, but only three students have given me their addresses so far. I know they will come and have learned how important patience is in getting some students over the dread of trying something new with computers since I work with teachers who seem to have the same dread.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2007 8:06 pm

    I hope you will share your students’ addresses so we can comment on their posts from time to time. It is wonderful encouragement to them to get replies from around the world.

  2. January 22, 2007 8:08 pm

    It can be so frustrating when you see so much to be learned and the people who could be learning – or teaching- just shy away! I teach teachers and my strategy, for all it’s worth, is to get them acquianted to blogging by having each write a summary of the lesson. Most of them have actually done it, but the comments function doesn’t seem to interest them!

  3. patricia9936 permalink
    January 23, 2007 12:10 am

    Blogging is great and I use it in my lessons with all my students. At the beginning, I used it for journal writing, and they didn’t like it. Good point, I thought. Why not just use a notebook and do journal entries there every day. Then I changed my strategy because I realized that I treated blogging as a more attractive notebook. That just doesn’t work; there is no point in using blogging to substitute it for something that can be done in a conventional way. However, when students saw that they can read and evaluate other students’ blogs, link and interact they saw a new potential to it. I also made sure there was a context to their learning. Right now, we are doing a creative writing workshop in which students are the teachers – they’ll be evaluating and commenting and learning from others. That way, they’ll need to interact in this ‘critique circle’.

Leave a Reply

