Skip to content

It’s building

January 23, 2007

Each day now a few more students have sent their addresses, and I have added them to the class blog roll for us to have access to each others blogs. I checked on some of the blogs as I created the blog roll for the class and found that at least two students have commented on their classmates’ blogs. I also sense more comfort with blogging with this class since two students are posting on blogs they have already created.

I like Patricia’s comment about her evolution of assignments. I am using blogs as an extension of the classroom with the original impetus coming from topics suggested in the textbook. The textbook encourages journals, but I have not had success with journals. I think I have not done a good job with blogs in giving them more of a context than this is an opportunity to write without a grade before we get to the graded assignments. Let’s practice.

I am trying something new in that this time I am writing on some of the same topics along with them. I posted my first post on the class blog tonight. I await the results.

Nancy, I put the link above if you or anyone else wishes to go to the class blog page and follow the links to the students’ blogs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bleiva2003 permalink
    January 23, 2007 4:37 am

    Hi John, From visiting your class blog and some of your students´I could see you already have had experience blogging with them Maybe you could tell us a bit about the activities that have worked well and those that your have redesigned according to your students needs and knowledge. I was a bit surprised there were not that many pictures or illustrations in the students´blogs I visited, or even in the class blog itself. I might be mistaken but this generation is very audiovisual a some pictures here and there might make sites more visually appealing. What do you think?
    Well, just a an observation. Warm regards from a friend at OWP, Berta

  2. January 23, 2007 9:13 pm

    Thanks for the link, John. Seems like your students are off to a good start! I like the fact that you are blogging along with them. I will be following their blogs.

  3. patricia9936 permalink
    January 25, 2007 4:38 am

    Looks great, John!

Leave a Reply

