Skip to content

Almost derailed

January 26, 2007

A student came to class to say she could not login to her Blogger account. She does not have a gmail account and does not want to get one. We tried it in our lab, and I could not figure out how to solve the problem. I brought the problem up in class, and the next day a couple of students said she should login using her email address, a hotmail address. She tried it, and it worked.

In three successive classes I had the students make a creative list which came from our textbook, Writing Processes and Structures: An American Language Text. The lists were things you would hide is someone was coming to visit, reasons for not getting married, and people who have influenced your life. This weekend, I asked the students to write something about one of the lists they made or make another list and write about it.

Still have seven students yet to post though three of them have blogs. It will come.

Berta commented on the lack of pictures.  I think you are right, and I hope to do something about that.  The students have much more this semester, little that there is so far, then in the past.  I will have to borrow my daughter’s camera and take some pictures.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. patricia9936 permalink
    January 26, 2007 3:35 am

    Dear John,
    I think this is a great example how we can, and we should, bring the students into the teaching/learning equilibrium: “I brought the problem up in class, and the next day a couple of students said she should login using her email address, a hotmail address. She tried it, and it worked.” I am sure that your students felt really empowered by this. I say that because I noticed how my students felt when they were able to help out with things like that. This was very true at the beginning of my blogging career when I was really confused by many technical things, but then one student would figure something out and I would jump at the idea of this student teaching others. I encouraged this every time it happened, and I had students teaching students and students teaching the teacher (very scare idea for many people :)! It’s a huge thing to give up the control and pass it on to the students sometimes, but it was phenomenal not only because they feel empowered and included in teaching, but it’s also very practical; they often know more than us, and we can learn from them. This is a ‘hidden’ benefit of blogging and technology – it creates a more inclusive classroom environment.

  2. January 26, 2007 1:33 pm

    I liked the title of your post because I think things like that always come up, and sometimes it seems that there is no solution. But there is almost always a solution out there if we look for it — or if we let our students look for it!

    I long for the day when my students know more about computers than I do. For most of mine, it is a totally new experience! But that is fun, too.

Leave a Reply

