Skip to content

As we progress

January 31, 2007

The second blog postings went up this week. For some reason they did not show in Bloglines, but many of the students posted. Some said in class they would get to it soon. We keep running into problems with the Blogger login for those without gmail accounts. I think this will be the last semester with Blogger. Logins should be easy because if there is frustration at this point, it isn’t going to get any easier.

In the openwebpublishing class, I have given up on Suprglu. I have been unable to do anything with it. I edit it then it just sits there and nothing happens. It may be my Internet provider, but the site isn’t working, and I don’t have time to keep going nowhere with it. Not enthused about the 43 sites because I don’t have much to add to what is there and am not interested in the conversations going on there. I like WordPress especially after updating the links in my blogroll on Blogger for the 340 blog even though the blogroll on this site isn’t showing after I thought I followed all the correct steps.

As a language teacher, new slang is always interesting so this article from the LA Times about military slang in Iraq intrigued me. I think most of us have had experience with “echelons above reality” [higher headquarters where no one has an idea about what is really happening].

A new site that I have stumbled across may be just what my students need for studying their vocabulary. The site is quizlet.com. It is a flashcard type of quiz maker on line that can be used individually or with groups. I am working on how to introduce it to my reading class.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2007 2:45 am

    I’m feeling the same about Suprglu. Most of the time it won’t even let me login to the site, let alone to edit anything. I’ve not had problems with using Blogger, though, and not having a gmail account. I was giving a workshop on the basics of blogging last week and Blogger let me create a new account with a hotmail address. BTW, I’m enjoying reading what your students have been writing!
    Erin

  2. January 31, 2007 2:33 pm

    Superglu is often very slow, but once you get it set up, it is cool. My favorite use of it is Clarence Fisher’s Brainwaves on Superglu, where he brings together his students’ blogs. The address is if you want to check it out.

    I think it could be useful for students who have limited computer time but want to/should read what all their classmates wrote. This way they are all there in the same place. It would also be convenient for the teacher!

  3. January 31, 2007 2:34 pm

    Oops! I see the address didn’t show up. I’ll try again!

    Brainwaves on Superglu
    http://mrfisher.suprglu.com/

  4. John permalink*
    January 31, 2007 11:49 pm

    Nancy,
    I see what you mean about Suprglu, but I spent over half an hour waiting for something to happen. I think part of the problem is the internet provider and another maybe the router since my internet access slows down when my children are on at the
    same time.

    elowry,
    I am enjoying them more this semester than at any other time though I feel a little disloyal in admitting it.

  5. February 1, 2007 6:07 am

    Just chiming in to agree…Suprglu may have many advantages, but the time waiting for anything to come up is very frustrating. I wonder if that doesn’t annoy readers as well as users.

  6. February 4, 2007 7:14 pm

    I can agree with just about everything you say here. My students had just gotten used to blogging with old blogger and now I fear they won’t with the new one.
    I also haven’t found much use in the other applications, but the ideas above sound intriguing. It seems like I sometimes come back to tools I had left unused in the past (my wordpress blog is one example:-))
    SO maybe we just need time and good examples to see how we can use these tools. Until then, I’ll save my energy and try things out that I see an immediate use in. The rest will come if needed.

Leave a Reply

