Skip to content

Not the best day

February 2, 2007

My first attempt to blog from Flock.

Right before I had to teach today, for about 4 and half hours in a row, the frame holding one lens of my glasses broke.  Spent most of the next hours with a mild headache, nausea, and did much squinting at the Power Points and Internet sites I was using. 

One student missed class and sent me a classmail in WebCT apologizing and went on to say, but she had blogged!  Hard to stay upset about that. 

I was reading a couple of blogs and the messages on the groups about privacy and the blogs.  To give a little context.  When I brought up my desire to try blogs, my colleague expressed concern about privacy issues and about some inflamatory opinions in some faculty and student blogs concerning some school issues.  My students are college age and above, and many seem to have some reluctance about sharing much of themselves in class and only a little more in their blogs though each semester there is a little more comfort with it.  

I had given the privacy issues some thought since I have begun having the students blog, but the issues brought up certainly challenge me to rethink what I have been doing.  I warn the students that anyone can read their blogs, but I have yet to need to warn anyone about what they are publishing.  Still, reflecting on the issues brought up regarding privacy, I think I should work out for myself a better sense of the limits and issues so I can introduce them more intelligently with my students.  . 

technorati tags:

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2007 8:42 pm

    I never would have imagined that I could share my thoughts and ideas as openly as I have on my blogs. And, even though I don’t do it, I would not be opposed to putting my pictures up, either. I guess I am just not worried about privacy in that sense. For me it is more not thinking anyone would be interested.

    With students, though, it is a different matter. I am more protective of them than I am of myself, even though they are adults. I think the difference is that I decided to blog; no one forced me to or required me to in any way. My students blog because I tell them to. That makes it very a very different matter.

    I have never asked students to blog about themselves and their lives. Instead, they write about things they have read. Now that I think about it, that is the way I blog, too.

    Anyway… I guess there isn’t much point to this comment, but your post made me think. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

