Skip to content

February 24, 2007

How frustrating! I just lost a long post when I tried to save it and continue editing.

I have benefited from the EVO sessions although I have turned into a lurker these last couple of weeks. I enjoyed the PowerPoint session because I not only learned a few new things to do with PowerPoint, but I also felt challenged to rethink how I use this tool. Turning the lights down low in a classroom can be an invitation to anything but paying attention, yet the ideas I got from the session have made my classes more interactive and lively.

The Openwebpublishing session provides lots of new applications to explore, and I tried out several. But I haven’t figured out how to use them in class. For me, the most promising is podcasting. But implementing it so that students can use it successfully still challenges my thinking. I share some of the reservations that Nancy expressed in her post,rethinking podcasting. Success requires planning and anticipation, but that is difficult without having had some of the experiences myself. I have tried out and used Audacity including using it to record NPR news stories for listening activities, splicing phrases from some famous speeches, copying some listening activities from a cassette. But I haven’t figured out yet how to integrate into my instructional repertoire so my students can benefit from it and use it for advancing their learning.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2007 2:28 pm

    If your students will be taking the TOEFL, one important way to use Audacity is to have your students record themselves on it. The speaking portion of the TOEFL requires them to record themselves, and I think it is important to give them practice doing that.

  2. March 11, 2007 5:06 pm

    wordpress does have glitches! I rewrote my reflections 3 times before I could post it 😛
    I’m also reflecting on podcasts and how to use them. I feel I need to have used them myself more extensively before I can use them in class. I’m particulary thinking about how to get them to make their own podcasts, but this will probably take even more convincing and support than blogs have.
    Gretings
    Illya

Leave a Reply

