Skip to content

Notes on PowerPoint and Blogging

May 27, 2007

I ran across two sites that suggest possible ways to improve using blogs and PowerPoint. 

Getting students to interact with blogs of the other students has been difficult for me.  Furthermore, I have elected not to evaluate the blogs beyond did it or didn’t do it.  However, this blog at Hossack’s House on assessing blogs offers some ideas.  He had his 5th grade students develop rubrics to evaluate blogs.  The rubrics can be found on his site.  They are still in progress.  From reading his blog, I am thinking about having my students read some blogs by other ESL students and develop rubrics based on these blogs.  The rubrics could be used either by me or the students to evaluate their blogs. 

Since I use PowerPoint in all of my classes, I am on the look out for ways to improve interaction because I sometimes look at the glazed look on my students’ faces and know I have not made the class either accessible or interesting.  Karl M. Kapp has a video presentation on using PowerPoint, “PowerPoint: What is Appropriate When and Why?” that offers several suggestions for making presentations more interactive. 

I use PowerPoint for several reasons, but the one I think may be most helpful for some students is that I send them the PowerPoint presentation for future reference.  This way they can pay attention in class and review later.  I have no idea how many review them later though I know some do.  This summer I have been sending out both the PowerPoint version and a pdf version because some students have had problems opening the PowerPoint version. 

Powered by ScribeFire.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2007 3:59 pm

    Thanks for the links. The rubrics will be valuable, I know. And the presentation on PowerPoint was very enlightening. I saw too many of my own slides there in the not-so-good examples!

  2. John Graney permalink*
    May 27, 2007 10:53 pm

    I know what you mean about the PowerPoint presentation because most of my presentations resemble the bad slides. In part, I didn’t have the creativity or imagination to do what Karl Kapp did. Even after the PowerPoint EVO session, I still didn’t have models for how to do these types of interactive slides, and I guess I am not creative enough all by myself to figure some of them out.

  3. June 15, 2007 8:48 am

    I know that ‘glazed look’ you mention in regard to students who are over-Ppted. I like the idea of sending students your Ppt for review. I know my son asks his teachers (especially science and history) for their ppts and finds them very useful – why didn’t I think of that? Ppts (good ones) take time to make, and being able to use them beyond a single class would be good.

  4. annlee1020 permalink
    April 3, 2009 1:12 am

    During my course several years, I was told that the presentation must be inter-active and make the students to be engaged in the course. Learn much from you about this.

    As to the distribution to the students especially the ones who have no access to PC, a DVD formats would be a good choice. Sharon’s story (http://www.ppt-to-dvd.com/community/testimonial.html) may inspire you. It is even allowed to advance the presentation slide by slide.

  5. John permalink*
    April 3, 2009 11:33 pm

    annlee1020, the software looks good. My students haven’t complained about not being able to get the PowerPoints since I put them on the LMS at school, and they can get them while at school or at home. However, I know that a couple of students have problems getting to the LMS outside of school. Thank you for the tip.

  6. annlee1020 permalink
    April 6, 2009 1:04 am

    It is my pleasure. 🙂
    The school you are working for seems wonderful. It arranges both the in-class and off-class course like(E-learning) in LMS. I admire this very much.

Leave a Reply

