Skip to content

PowerPoint and Video

August 1, 2009

The students finished their midterm presentations, and everyone used PowerPoint though a couple of them could have avoided it though even they used it well to supplement their talks.  However, there is a growing trend to use videos in their presentations which stretch out the times of their presentations and are usually related though not always in good taste (at least for this old fuddy duddy).  The problem is that they don’t know how to put the videos into their presentations, so they end up clicking on a hyperlink, if we are lucky, or cutting and pasting the link with their backs to the audience for several seconds.  This tells me that they like to use video and I have to help them use it better.  That is my next project.  To me, this is letting them lead me to where I want to go: effective use of technology while building communication skills.  Hope I get there before I retire.

I use Philip Zimbardo’s TED talk on how people become monsters or heroes.  To prepare for it, I have been using some clips from “A Class Divided” which someone pointed out about a year ago on YouTube.  It seems to make a good lead in, but in the future, I think I will break the videos into smaller pieces to help the students better understand what is going on in the videos. 

I thought we would be able to incorporate video into the debates, but it looks like that is going nowhere.  I am considering the possibility of a group video project on an issue instead of a debate for fall semester.  I haven’t thought it through yet, but I think it would involve some issue such as global warming or gay marriage.  They would present the video and then lead a discussion on the video.  I really want to try to use student videos in class and stretch out what they and I can do.
 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 3:25 am

    I totally agree with you! In fact, in this era of Web 2.0, integrating teaching with technology is a trend in today’s education. Videos can add a dynamic touch to a presentation. But sometimes it sucks by accidents like Internet corruption.
    A better way is to make the fragile PowerPoint file (with a sound or video)safe and protective. And converting class presentations to video or DVD is a critical consideration, as it video and DVD are universal formats that can span from desktop to the Web, portable and TV.
    You can Google for a PowerPoint to video and DVD converter. What I use is the one called Moyea PPT to DVD Burner, a mix of PowerPoint to DVD and video that can be got at http://www.dvd-ppt-slideshow.com/ppt_to_dvd/

Leave a Reply

