Skip to content

Rewordify

August 20, 2017

I was listening to a podcast, EdTech Take Out, and at the end of the show, each of the two podcasters mentioned favorite new tech products.  One of the podcasters mentioned Rewordify.com.  I decided to check it out because the review indicated that it might help my reading students.

I did check it out.  It looks promising enough that I will share it with my students this semester.  Rewordify.com takes a text and rewords the difficult words into either simpler words or explanatory phrases.  Here is an example from the Custom House chapter of The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.13.33 AM

Each of the highlighted words or phrases replace more difficult vocabulary items.  The difficulty calculations are based on the Corpus of Contemporary American English word frequency calculations.  When the highlighted area is clicked on, the original word or phrase will appear.

rewordify definition

We can also get information about the text this is entered including reading ease and vocabulary density.  We can find this out by looking at the top of the page which immediately provides information about how many difficult words are in the reading. If we choose Stats,Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.27.50 AM

we can find out more information about lexical density and readability.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.30.05 AM.png

Looking at the stats reinforces the initial impression that this would be a very difficult text for English language learners.  Print and Learning Activities give us a menu of different resources to use including vocabulary lists and quizzes.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.09.59 AM

I haven’t tried these out yet, but I did do the vocabulary list with definitions for the first reading my class will do.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.10.33 AM

The site provides educator assistance if you choose Educator Central at the top of the menu items.  Educator Central looks like this.

Screen Shot 2017-08-20 at 8.39.22 AM

As I have said, I haven’t used this site, but it looks very supportive for the users both teachers and students.  I haven’t decided how to use this site for my class but plan to use it.  If you use it, please let me know what your experiences are.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2017 10:30 am

    Hi Language Tune Ups Team,

    My name is Anuj Agarwal. I’m Founder of Feedspot.

    I would like to personally congratulate you as your blog Language Tune Ups has been selected by our panelist as one of the Top 100 ESL Blogs on the web.

    http://blog.feedspot.com/esl_teacher_blogs/

    I personally give you a high-five and want to thank you for your contribution to this world. This is the most comprehensive list of Top 100 ESL Blogs on the internet and I’m honored to have you as part of this!

    Also, you have the honor of displaying the badge on your blog.

    Best,
    Anuj

Leave a Reply

